Posted by: glue | May 17, 2008

How to Open Doors

doorknob

About 1948, age 3+, I awoke from my nap and, as usual, called for my mother to let me out of my room. She decided that was the day I would learn to open a door. Standing on the other side of the door, speaking loudly enough to be heard over my screams, she offered instructions. Grasp the knob firmly, turn it, and pull toward you. Oh, grasp, turn, and pull, all at once? Perhaps that combination was what had eluded me previously, when my hand slid ineffectively around the knob? So it was possible to open any door, anywhere, and walk right through?

gate

Responses

  1. […] (much). But I do value narrative. The blog is a narrative space. We might tell a story about a doorknob, for instance. Or we might tell a story about Miami, 1976. Or we might tell a story about an […]

  2. For compositions like Young-Becker-Pike a doorknob is a particle. In -Rhetoric, Discovery, and Change-, for example, Young references the particles in Pike’s family home.

    Doorknobs might also be said to play a role in the development of the term “writer’s block.” Edmund Bergler, a student of Freud, developed this term back in the 50’s, and in a proto-signature play move, reports that a patient of his found a way to unlock his “literary resources” through the play of Bergler-Burgler.

    Doorknobs open personal narratives, popular narratives, historical narratives, and theory narratives. Little tics and turns . . .

    ..par.tic.le.Pike.pick.Part.tic.kle.Bergler.burglar..

  3. I have some images that I would like to upload for you to view – how can I do this? JanW


Leave a Reply

Categories

